Library Books

One of my first concerns about living overseas was how to get ahold of English-language books. I am notoriously bad at buying books, in general since I am a huge library fan. At home that means that my bookshelves do not sag under the weight of other dead trees.

Of course, you are all thinking – but now there are e-books! And yes! There are! I have bought a few books to store on my iPad for our year here (Rick Steves’ Switzerland, for one, and Swiss Life: 30 Things I Wish I’d Known by Chantal Panozzo). I also bought the newest Murakami book which was published two days before we left home.

Then there is the wonder that is the public library. I have been able to borrow a number of books on e-loan from the LA County Library. (If I ever get desperate, I will check out the various places to pay a monthly fee, like Amazon or Scribd. It hasn’t come to that, yet.)

Last, but not least, there is the library at the American Women’s Club of Zürich. It is said to be the largest English-language library in the city (maybe the country?). I especially enjoy the travel section there which meant that I didn’t have to buy a lot of travel books and cart them here in my luggage.

The library is run by volunteers, and yesterday I had my first, of two, training sessions to be one of those people who man the station once a month. Having run an elementary school library for 11 years, this is right up my alley. There was much to learn, and I was going to take a photo of the library for this post, but I didn’t get around to it. I will put one up one later.

Leave a Reply

