Return to Vienna

Thirty-four years ago I spent 6 days in Vienna and have been wanting to return ever since. Last week, I got my chance. What I remembered about my first visit was somewhat hazy, partly because I lost the roll of film from that trip before the pictures were ever developed. At least I kept a brief journal of my time there, so I could remember some of the things I had done and which things I might want to revisit.

This time was different for several reasons. First, I didn’t have to pine over my boyfriend being on another continent, since he is now my husband, and I could share my love of this city with him. Also, we could afford to eat in a variety of restaurants this time and not share a hostel room with lots of people. And, as hard as it is to believe, there are some new things in Vienna in the past thirty-four years.

IMG_5705

Fiaker

The one photo on a roll of film that didn’t get lost. I now have a better camera.

fiaka

Fiaker in 1980

While we were strolling through town, I was trying to put my finger on why this city is special to me. First of all, and probably the most important, is that this is the center of the classical music world. This is where Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven lived, as well as many others, including Mahler. I have a special spot in my heart for Fin de siècle Vienna, and the art of the Secessionists (Gustav Klimt, especially).

This time I thought about the grandeur and elegance of the architecture as well as the wide streets and sidewalks which make walking easy. It is just a feeling that I have that makes this city one of my very favorites.

Leave a Reply

