Churches and a Basement

My taste in church architecture runs towards the Gothic. Baroque is too much for me, so we opted to skip the Karlskirche in Vienna. (Sorry, Anne!) Of course we spent a good amount of time looking at St. Stephen’s in the center of the city where our podcast audio tour started. The first day we went, the skies were gray, but we returned on the last day with blue skies and retook photos of the glorious roof.

IMG_5709 IMG_5988 IMG_6003

While looking for this double-headed eagle, a lovely Austrian woman pointed us down a street and told us that the view was much better there, and she was right.

IMG_5997

You might have to click on this photo and look on the left column, just below the middle in order to see the cannonball that is lodged in the buttress from the Second Turkish siege in 1683.

IMG_5693

Not listed in many tour books, we went out of our way to find another gothic church, this one much smaller, called Maria am Gestade. The only reason I wanted to see it was that I wrote about it in my journal in 1980 as my favorite church. I think I was pretty enamored of the stained glass.

IMG_5792 IMG_5794 IMG_5796 IMG_5799

Also because of my journal, I remembered a place that we ate called the Twelve Apostle Cellar (Zwölf Apostlekeller). We went down a flight of stairs into this centuries-old basement to enjoy some Viennese food, as well as some Sturm (the new wine in the fall which packs a punch).

IMG_5809

One thought on “Churches and a Basement

Leave a Reply

