Swiss Referendums

The US voted lastIMG_4009 week in mid-term elections, and while I followed them at a distance, I was not subjected to the barrage of ads on tv.

I am starting to learn a little bit about Swiss politics. The country votes four times a year on referendums. Before we moved here I heard about the February immigration referendum which narrowly passed. I also heard about the May referendum which would have created a mandatory minimum wage of 22 CHF. It did not pass.

The September referendums did not cross my radar, but the upcoming election on Nov. 30 has recently brought 2-3 newsletters to our mailbox each week. For awhile I was seeing the headlines about EcoPop in the papers, but I thought it was about the European singing contest which is actually called Eurovision. I know better now.

Apparently EcoPop is not well-written and is not supposed to pass. It requires an annual net migration into the country of no more than 0.2%.

Leave a Reply

