Honor Code

It pays to follow the honor code when it comes to riding public transportation here. When we ride the SBB trains (leaving the city), we usually have to show the controller our tickets. Sometimes I worry that we have somehow purchased the wrong tickets, or are on the wrong train, but, so far, so good. We are getting this thing down.

When riding the ZVV (the Zürich city system), I have never seen a controller check for tickets. I have heard that they occasionally do, but I have never seen one. Until Monday night. I ride the tram 1-3 times per week. I usually use a 24-hour pass and try to make the most out of it. I stamp the ticket just before I go to orchestra on Monday nights, return home on that ticket a few hours later, then use it again the next morning to go to German practice and after buying groceries down the hill, I use the tram to carry the goods back up the hill. All in less than 24 hours. The rest of the week I usually walk everywhere in town.

So, on Monday on the stop just before home, the controller walked on the tram. My honest living paid off, and I saved myself a first-time offender fine of 90 CHF.

Then, yesterday as I stepped off the tram I saw more ZVV controllers walk onto the tram for a check. Later on I saw a group of them walking towards a tram stop. Must be the season.

And, yeah, I’ll keep being honest.

Leave a Reply

