May Day in Zürich

When I was a little girl, May Day meant making a paper cone with a handle, putting some flowers in it from the yard, hanging it on a friend’s door, ringing the doorbell and running. I think I did it once. And I think we did a Maypole dance once in elementary school.

Anyway, it’s not much of a holiday in the US, but it is considered Labor Day in many European countries. Ten of Switzerland’s cantons commemorate this day with protests and closing stores, banks, schools, etc. Zürich is one of those ten.

IMG_5283

I read warnings online that I should not park my car in certain parts of town (no problem), especially if I have a fancy sports car that might get torched. Also, maybe I should not actually go to Sechseläutenplatz to watch the demonstrations which sometimes get violent. Because of the non-stop rain, I didn’t even leave the flat yesterday.

I read in the Neue Zürcher Zeitung that things were mostly calm today with some damage and some arrests, with a strong police presence. Around 10,000 people participated in the march.

from the NZZ

from the NZZ

Leave a Reply

