Saturday Hike: Mythenrundreise

A few weeks ago I blogged about our hike at Sattel-Engelstock. It was a great hike. It was very foggy. I wanted to go back on a clear day. As our time here becomes limited, I wonder if there are ANY places we can see again, as our list of things to see never shrinks.

Turns out, the Mythenrundreise is in the same area as the Sattel, and ends up there. We checked the ever-changing weather forecast and decided to chance it. If we wait for perfect weather, then we will never go anywhere.

As we went up the gondola at Rotenflue, things looked unpromising. It was partly sunny in the town, but soon were whisked up through the clouds. Oh, well. Hiking is still great. Low, and behold – we rose above the clouds, and when we got off the gondola, this is the view that greeted us.

The 10-km hike is mostly downhill. We saw many people coming up the hill – hearty folk. We walked around the Grosser Mythen,

The clouds came and went throughout the 3-hour hike.

I’m loving the new growth on the trees. I understand the Crayola color called “spring green.”

When we met up with the trail we’d hiked before, we saw this herd of goats.

People have started asking me what some of my favorite parts of Switzerland are. Of course, that’s very hard to say, but I think my answer now is, “Any hike we take.” (Except for That One.)

More photos at glampinginswitzerland’s Instagram.

Leave a comment